iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Forestry Forum Down Time

Started by Jeff, March 29, 2002, 07:32:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff

At some point, I will have to shut the forum down. I hope for only a few hours, but it may turn out to be a day or so.

As most of you know, this website is on its own server, that server is administated by me. A self taught wannabe. When I created this site on the server I knew nothing about it. I Just did it. Well, the way I did it included a major defect in my ability to add new things and manage the site.

My only remedy for curing this defect is to back everything up, (MAJOR UNDERTAKING) and delete this domain from the server, then recreate it without the defect. I do not want to do this. Anytime you do something like this you run the risk of losing data. If I don't do it, the forum can sit here and work the way it has worked. But any plans I have or ideas I get from you about expansion or new features are limited by this roadblock. Some of the simplest things become hurdles because of this.

I am still researching this to see what or if the alternatives might be, but as yet I dont see any other then do it, or dont do it. :-/
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

Frank_Pender

All good things come to those who wait.  I can wait. Please let us know, if you can, when you decide to shut down so as I can prepare for my withdrawl symptoms to kick in and try and  prep my pschye to handle the time warp of waiting. :'( :'( ;)
Frank Pender

Jeff

I will, I will mass email all registered members shortly before I start, and Hopefully be able to mail them again when I am done. I don't know when it will be. I tend to be a closet procrastinator.  :D  

psychotic1