iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timber Framing Schools

Started by 1 Quart Low, January 19, 2007, 11:54:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

1 Quart Low

Hello!  I'm new to the forum and I am hoping that someone can provide me some information concerning the numerous schools and workshops that teach timber-framing.  I have a desire to build my own home and I am very intriqued by the TF
style.  I have limited construction experience, and I know that I need some serious hands on training.  However, I can't leave my job for an apprenticeship or school that is several months long.  I have been survey the different schools on the net and found several two weeks and under.  Question:  Can someone with my limited experience learn what I need to know to build and erect a TF with only two weeks of training?  Could you give me your training experience and how you got started in the
Timber Framing World.  I am looking for some direction, instead of floating.  Thanks.

Jim_Rogers

Quote from: 1 Quart Low on January 19, 2007, 11:54:36 PMQuestion:  Can someone with my limited experience learn what I need to know to build and erect a TF with only two weeks of training?

First of all, welcome.

And, that really depends on you, and maybe your design. If you want something really fancy with a lot of compound joinery, I'd say no, unless you do a lot of studying and make a lot of sample joints.
If you are going to do a fairly simple design without a lot of compound joinery then maybe.
Most start with a simple design like a shed or outbuilding to learn there and make their mistakes out back before doing the "front" house.
There is a school in TN but I don't have the link right now. Goshen is good also....
And there are lots of schools in the Northeast. I've been to most of them, in one way or another.
Making a model of your intended "house" frame is another way to learn a lot about how it will all go together.

Good luck with your research and project, and keep asking questions.