iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Dog/Clamp Pressure How Much is Enough?

Started by Trent, November 30, 2006, 01:31:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trent

Putting a few final touches on the home built rig. I have a hand winch that applies pressure for holding logs. Can someone tell me about how much pressure is enough? Currently have about 600#, but can double or triple with pullies if needed. It's an 18 HP band mill, and will cut up to about 30" logs.    Thanks.   
Can't fish, can't hunt, don't care about sports. Love to build, machine, fabricate.      Trent Williams

Fla._Deadheader

In my experience, I studied all the mills I could get photo access to. WM has a hydraulic 2 plane clamp. I modeled after that. One feature I did add, was, I welded teats on the face of the clamp head, so it would "bite" a little under pressure. It holds very well for keeping the cant tight to the bed and helps keep the log from rolling with the blade cutting.

My newest project will have the same feature. I use a 1" threaded bar to run the clamp in-out. It puts enough pressure to really curve the 1"shaft and 1"dummy reinforcement bar, with a 1/5 HP 12V motor and gearing.

Hard to tell with a winch.
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

mike_van

I don't know what #pound's are needed, you just need enough to keep the log from moving. When you get a log loaded, try to wiggle it, if it moves, you need more. Odd shaped or off center ones need more than nice round ones.  I'm able to split a 4x4 on my mill with no clamp. A sharp blade & reasonable feed speed has very little "pull".  Some things like this, you need to use it for a while to see whats going to work or not.
I was the smartest 16 year old I ever knew.

Tom

I like the "it depends" kind of answer best.