iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Soapstone stoves/heaters

Started by quintstewart, October 22, 2004, 11:10:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

quintstewart

Hi, I am a newbie in here. My wife and I are planning a log home in the mountains of southern California (approx 2600 sq. ft.). We like the idea of a soapstone heater but the ones like Tulikivi are VERY expensive. Does anyone have any experience with these? Do they really keep a home warm all by themselves? Are there any cheaper ones that work?

You can answer me here or email me directly at quintstewart@yahoo.com

Thanks...Quint

ohsoloco

Welcome, quintstewart  :)  I've looked into masonry heaters for a while when I was considering building a house.  You can find some good information at http://mha-net.org/

Also, there is a company that sells "kits" that you could have a local mason install for you, their website is http://www.tempcast.com

Look around tempcast's site, or get in touch with them, because I'm pretty sure they can give you contact information for owners of their heaters so you could get info. from an actual user.  They're not all soapstone, but I'm sure you could go that route if you like...I like the mountainstone myself  :)  Good luck searching!  

Murf

Quint, welcome also.

Yes, the soapstone heaters DO work as well as they say.

However, you can also reproduce the same effect with a regular small woodstove and a skid of refractory brick or as it is commonly called "fire brick", the yellowish stuff they sell for lining a woodstove.

The theory is merely thermal mass storage, you make such a mass of masonary warm that it gives off a small amount of heat constantly, instead of a blast of heat now & then like a traditional furnace would.

Avoid the temptation to use regular concrete, it won't take the extremes of temperature that are required.