iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Dry wood in kitchen oven?

Started by Mathias, December 07, 2008, 11:40:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mathias

I'm a woodworker that has christmas projects (presents) to make. I've got some quarter saw oak I've had air drying for a year. I was wondering how to go about drying (temp., length on time, etc.) pieces small enough to fit in the oven since I don't have a kiln.
Hand plane collector

woodmills1

I dried some cookies in an oven, using warm setting

weigh the piece first then after say 15 minutes, take it out when it stops losing weight.
James Mills,Lovely wife,collect old tools,vacuuming fool,36 bdft/hr,oak paper cutter,ebonic yooper rapper nauga seller, Blue Ox? its not fast, 2 cat family, LT70,edger, 375 bd ft/hr, we like Bob,free heat,no oil 12 years,big splitter, baked stuffed lobster, still cuttin the logs dere IAM

Ianab

You could, but if you just bring the air dried wood inside and sticker it someplace out of the way for a month it will dry to match the enviroment inside your house, and that will be the correct moisture content for working with.

Stacking some in an attic space or spare room will work fine. As the wood is reasonably dry then you wont have any big amount of water given off to cause problems inside.

An oven could actually over dry the wood, then you will have movement problems as it gains moisture from the air.

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Meadows Miller

Gday