iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

100 logs -How to move

Started by bhub, November 15, 2005, 06:17:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bhub

I am in NY. A friend of mine called me, he has bought 12 acres and has cleared it. He offered me the lumber for free .  I usually go with my 16 foot trailer and winch my logs on. Today,  I went to take a look and the logs are cut and piled-Maple, walnut cherry and ash. Most logs are 16ft long and from 16 to 40 inch diameter. Some very nice lumber.  This is much more than I have ever seen before.  I am trying to find a way to get the wood . Anyone have any ideas about people to call. I can't find any local loggers. Are there folks that will trade transportation for logs.  Or, is this worth calling a lumber mill to buy. I have a 30" hudson manual mill. I'm a newby who has been cutting local cherry and walnut for my own furniture needs. I've been making furniture for 15 years. . I can't  use it all. Just looking for ideas. There are 10 cherry and 10 walnut trees in the pile. Some are beautifull.  My friend will give me all the lumber if I can move it.  Otherwise , I can take what I can with my trailer and he will bury the rest. Thanks
bhub
http://www.butchmuller.com

Fla._Deadheader

Find a Sawyer and see if he will saw "on shares" ???
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

raycon

Call a log hauler.  Fella with a grapple on his truck. Around here its $75-$150 a load depending on the cost of fuel and distance traveled.  Take the cherry and walnut on the first load if the owners ok with it.

If theres a 100 hardwood trees there. The hauler would more the likely trade wood for services. He'll at least know of a fire wood processor that will pay cash for a truck load.
Lot of stuff..

Brad_S.