iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A few questions..

Started by Adirondack, June 18, 2016, 12:37:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adirondack

I am sure each question I have is answered in one of the other threads perhaps but despite my reading through a multitude I still haven't the answers. So here is the baseline for my questions. I have been sawing my own lumber for a while now. We own a 130 acre horse farm in upstate NY. I am currently sawing with a Timberking 1600 (2006) which I love, except... with the older model there isn't  hydraulic functions for log turner, log dogs or toe boards or a board return. The newer models are a bit more than what I want to spend, and still do not offer the hydraulic toe boards or board return. I saw by myself 100% of the time, and I am all about being efficient, because lets face it, time is money. I am by no means a professional sawmill, but simply wood for myself and occasionally for friends and neighbors. I was looking at a Norwood LumberPro HD36, which has every single option I want in a mill. Stationary operators station, board return, and all of the hydraulics.. Downside is that they are a kit mill and I don't really want to put it together and be checking for nuts and bolts all over the frame when I do my daily check prior to operation. Second, I like the Woodmizer LT35 HD which is also  in my price range, but it doesn't have stationary operator control option or board return option from what I am able to see when I configure a mill online. Can anyone shed some light onto a possible direction I can go? Does anyone that owns a LumberPro HD36 have any issues with the structural components of the mill, or can you weigh in on this? Thank you all for reading my long winded post, but as you all know, there is no easy answer when it comes to looking at sawmills. The Timberking is still a viable option, just would have to remain the 1600 and if anyone knows if hydraulic toe boards and board return are options which with the design