iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timberjack 230 JD 440 Info

Started by Bucksaw, July 12, 2018, 09:13:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bucksaw

Hi, I am new to skidders and need to know what to look for on a Timberjack 230 and a 440 JD. The 440 is a A I think. The 230 is unknown year/model,possibly a'79 D. It comes with 4 spare planetaries,transmission,transfer case, hydraulic pump, bell housing and starter. It will be used on my own bush lot and not commercially.  

mike_belben

I dont have the info youre after but thats some good lookin iron
Praise The Lord

Puffergas

In regards to that nice timber jack, if it has an Eaton winch remove top oil fill plug and see if the $1000 brass gear is razor sharp. It wants to look like a gear.

Front cradle bushings, the blade should pick the front off the ground and you might get an idea how the front pins are.

Wow, that looks nice.
Jeff
Somewhere 20 miles south of Lake Erie.

GEHL 5624 skid steer, Trojan 114, Timberjack 225D, D&L SB1020 mill, Steiger Bearcat II

Bucksaw

Quote from: Puffergas on July 12, 2018, 12:48:53 PM
In regards to that nice timber jack, if it has an Eaton winch remove top oil fill plug and see if the $1000 brass gear is razor sharp. It wants to look like a gear.

Front cradle bushings, the blade should pick the front off the ground and you might get an idea how the front line are.

Wow, that looks nice.
It has a Hercules winch. 

Maine logger88

Eaton and Hercules are the same winch so like puffergas said check the brass gear. That machine has Rockwell rears and the big cab my guess would be 75 ish vintage. 
79 TJ 225 81 JD 540B Husky and Jonsered saws

Bucksaw

thecfarm

Those tires look good. And those chains even better!!!
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

BargeMonkey