iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Great Forum, knowledge and laffs, can't get any better!

Started by Amax, January 29, 2012, 08:12:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Amax

Hi everyone,

I've been trolling the forum for a number of weeks now and felt it was time to finally join and participate. 8)

I'm a total rookie in the milling business, in fact I'm still in the planning stages.  Enjoyed very much reading the forum archives and in particular have found Pnyberg's posts extremely informative and motivational to a newbie... Finding this forum is like striking gold for a rookie or anyone contemplating sawing or just wanting to learn more about the industry.

I have read so many informative (and often funny) posts from so many different people... but I must say kudos to MM, Bibbyman (love the historic photos post by the way), Kansas, Swampdonkey, Paul C, Jeff and Chuck W.  Your collective knowledge, willingness to share and sense of community is what finally led me to sign up and say hi.

A bit about me... While I don't think I'm having a mid life crisis, hitting 50 this year, means you tend to realize you probably reached the top of the hill and well maybe, just maybe it's time to have a bit of fun... and so I thought fun might come in the shape of a WM Bandsaw and a small operation processing a number of different hardwood products and see how the ride down the hill turns out... heck it might just be fun to go mobile after reading some of the stories on this forum even though that was not my first thought.

I consider myself extremely fortunate that I am able to approach a new chapter in my life without the need of a major income (at least for a while).  Having an opportunity to explore what you want to do rather than what you have to do is frankly a blessing.  I'm under no illusions I am "starting again" and finding this forum has underlined that I have an awful lot to learn about sawing, milling and forestry in general.

pc_smiley  smiley_swinging_board  smiley_chop