iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Air Compressor Buying Basics?

Started by Paschale, September 14, 2004, 12:59:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paschale

Hi everyone,

I was in a thread about removing rust from a WM, and got some advice to use an air grinder from VA-Sawyer and Electic_AL.  It's definitely on my list of things I need/want to buy, and as I've been mulling this over, I'm wondering if I should buy one sooner rather than later.  I've had very little experience with compressors, though, so I'm not sure what the minimum requirements would be to do the things that I'd most likely want to use it for.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here's what I'm thinking:

1.Using it from time to time to run tools, such as an air grinder.

2.Using it perhaps to do some blasting--VA-Sawyer mentioned glass bead blasting (which is new to me too), and in past posts, people have urged me to steer clear of sandblasting, since it could gum up the works of the bandsaw itself.

3.  Perhaps using it to repaint the WM.  I had thought about repainting once it's all rust free.  Maybe having Maaco or somebody do a cheapie $99 paint job.  Then, the thought crossed my mind with a compressor, if I buy the right one and a hand sprayer, I could do it myself.  

4.  Finish spraying for woodworking.

5.  Powering some air brad guns for woodworking.

6.  Uses yet to be determined!

I've been doing some looking in stores, and online, and I really can't make heads or tails yet of all the variables and differences one needs to consider.   ::) Any suggestions?  

Thanks!

Dano
Y'all can pronounce it "puh-SKOLLY"

Buzz-sawyer

Hey bud
I think a compressor is a must but there are several issues to consider..........first of all an inexpensive electric angle grinder works real well....I bought many, but the off brand china angle grinder has held up for a decade and cost 29.00 bucks.....they can cut really well with a disk and grind and polish , they are light and work great......