iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking for advice

Started by blake.benton1, January 14, 2018, 11:48:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blake.benton1

Hi guys, been following and reading the forum for a while. Here's some background on me, my family has been in the logging business for 40 years. I work with them from time to time but my day job is working for an agriculture equipment dealer full time. With that being said, my uncle and I have been looking into purchasing a sawmill to sell lumber as a side business. We have the support equipment in place already as well as the access to logs. My question is what would y'all do first build a kiln to dry lumber and have someone cut the lumber until we pay for kiln and have enough money to purchase sawmill outright or buy sawmill first and pay for it and then get kiln? I understand that having the kiln will add value to the lumber but from your experience is there a way higher demand for kiln dried lumber versus green/air dried?

Ianab

You will probably get a few different opinions on this one.

But my observation is that as well as paying for the mill and kiln, there is also a learning curve to the whole sawing / drying / selling thing.

My suggestion would be to look for a decent used manual sawmill, LT 15 or something similar. As you say you have some support machinery and a log supply sorted out, so that's a plus. This then gets you sawing (and learning) for a relatively small outlay. Once you have the sawing worked out, build a solar kiln. If you air dry, and just finish in the kiln you can dry a decent amount of wood. Some wood you will be able to sell green, some air dried, and for some kiln dried is the best return. For example, no one kiln dries cedar fence boards, you can sell them right off the saw, or air dry them easy enough.