iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Soffit suggestions for open beam A-frame house

Started by dsell, January 07, 2019, 10:58:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dsell

Hi,
Newbie here and I need advice on replacing the soffit material on my house.  The old material is some type of fiber board that is sagging due to moisture. Two quotes are Smartside OSB and Charter Oak vinyl.  I think the Smartside would look the best with the cedar texture but it would have caulk in the expansion joints / edges, and need painted.  What are your opinions and is there another material to consider?   The material is inside and outside the house, so the difference will be obvious looking out.

hedgerow

My opinion is always I don't want to paint all the time. Around here a lot of vinyl and metal is used on soffit. I even used metal soffit on my old 110 year old barn when I put pole barn steel on it for siding. I didn't want to have to get up their and paint. You can always use something else inside. 

dsell

Quote from: hedgerow on January 07, 2019, 11:40:40 AM
My opinion is always I don't want to paint all the time. Around here a lot of vinyl and metal is used on soffit. I even used metal soffit on my old 110 year old barn when I put pole barn steel on it for siding. I didn't want to have to get up their and paint. You can always use something else inside.
Are you referring to aluminum?  Would it have more of a tendency to sag on these wide runs?  Also, should any considerations be made for condensation of different materials?  The current fiber board has tar paper above it and then two layers of sheathing.

hedgerow

It is aluminum and it has holes in it for ventilation. We used the same product without the holes on a porch ceiling that is ten feet wide and never had a problem with it sagging. What we used didn't come from a big box store it came from a siding wholesale company. There are different grades of siding and trim products. 

fishfighter