iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Reefer Kiln Help Needed!

Started by JHEPP08, October 05, 2014, 08:53:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JHEPP08

Hello everyone! Id like to start out and say im a newbie when it comes to kilns.  I recently acuired a really nice 53' reefer van trailer. i have 2 options so far with it (this is where i need your help!)

1. Build a partition wall in the trailer thinking about making enough room to have 1-2 carts with 10-12' long...
I have some fans to use for circulation but my biggest issue is heat source. Since im new i dont want to spend 6-10k starting out on a kiln unit.  Id really like to have a electric heat source but i have no clue what kind or type or size to use..  I would also put a dehumidifier unit in the trailer to drain water.

2nd option is to get a logosol sauna vt5 set up. They seem to work really good and if i can load 1000-1200 board feet and hopefully run lumber through it monthly i could do that an once i get things paid for id be glad to buy a NYLE.  I am currently operating off a small loan.

Little background information.. I have a woodmizer lt15 right now that ive been sawing with so im not a high production outfit but ive been working on gaining business.

Thanks in advance for all your help, this rookie needs all the help he can get!

Woodmizer LT15

ellmoe

Oh. now I understand... different reefer. I thought I was on the wrong forum! ;D
Thirty plus years in the sawmill/millwork business. A sore back and arthritic fingers to prove it!

JHEPP08

Haha that might be the answer to my question
Woodmizer LT15

thecfarm

Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

scsmith42

I have a Nyle kiln that is built from a shipping container.  Lot's of con's to doing what you are attempting to do, and a few pro's.