iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How should I treat a solid log (squared off) before turning into a bench

Started by grandgourmand, October 27, 2014, 03:59:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

grandgourmand

Hi all,

first time post.  I am new to the hobby.   By way of background, I own a farm and there's a 30-acre woodlot on it that I had professionally marked and harvested this summer.  Now I've got a whole bunch of cherry wood limbs lying around my problem.  Some of it I'll be turning into my personal firewood supply.  Some of it I want to turn into something more interesting.  In my garage right now is a 4-5' solid cherry wood log, untreated and bark on.  I want to turn into a solid log bench.  My plan is to square it off using my chainsaw, plane it and sand it down.  Then, put some sort of sealer or clear coat on it to preserve it.  But really, I have no clue.

Do I need to do anything to the wood to allow it to dry out properly (there are already some cracks...but i'm ok with that in my design)?
Is my plan so far sounding good as far as getting through the first few steps?
What kind of finish should I put on it?  I want it to look as "natural" as possible...no stains or anything. 

I have read some stuff about Pentacryl and thought that might do the trick.  But it's bloody expensive and wonder how much I need to use. 

Sorry about all the questions.  But I really know nothing. 

I've got a picture I want to attach...but need to figure out  how to post.  Will be back. 

Thanks in advance.

thecfarm

Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

grandgourmand

Quote from: thecfarm on October 27, 2014, 08:19:16 PM
grandgourmand,welcome to the forum.

Thanks.  I've been creeping for a few weeks.  Mostly the chainsaw and firewood forums. 

Magicman

Hello grandgourmand, and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.   :)