iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Arduino Setworks (with video!)

Started by hackberry jake, September 26, 2013, 08:41:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hackberry jake

I am in my last semester at the community college to get an associates degree. I have a class called "programing logic" which is handy and all but the people in it are extremely smart electronics students. I have been telling them about sawmilling and they have been helping me through understanding logic. They enlightened me to a thing called an "Arduino". Its a $30 board you can buy online that can be programed to do all kinds of functions. It's exactly like a mini computer without a screen, but you can buy a screen and have it display certain variables. I am pretty sure I can build a highly accurate setwork system for under $400. Program the Arduino and have it send info to a stepper driver, the driver controls the stepper motor and your head moves up and down in precise incriments.
At the moment I am thinking about having a button for 4", a button for 1", a button for 1/4", and a button for 1/16". There would also be an "up" button and a "down" button that would finalize the command. I may change the set-up a bit as I learn more about all thats involved. to lower the head 5 1/2 inches you would hit the 4, then the 1, then hit the 1/4 button twice and once you hit the down button it would "send" the command and the sawhead would lower. What you guys think?
https://www.facebook.com/TripleTreeWoodworks

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

drobertson

sounds like C++ programming, very doable,   david
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

beenthere

Anxious to see it put to work.