iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

ERC Siding

Started by Tree Feller, November 17, 2012, 06:44:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tree Feller

For exterior ERC board & batten siding, what is the preferred finish? (not paint)

I don't want the gray, weathered look.
Cody

Logmaster LM-1 Sawmill
Kioti CK 30 w/ FEL
Stihl MS-290 Chainsaw
48" Logrite Cant Hook
Well equipped, serious, woodworking shop

HousewrightVA

Rymar Extreme Weather Wood Coating
skidsteer logger
Case 1840  440  580B
2016 LT40 Super

shelbycharger400

oil base stain with very light pigment with uv inhib.

mikeb1079

housewright can you share your experience with that stuff?  i'm using some walnut and oak for exterior trim and i'd like to stave off the elements for as long as possible.  right now i'm using zar polyurethane.  so far i like it but i have little experience in this area.  also how much is that per gallon?

edit:  i see that its around 75 a gallon.  that's not too bad if it works well.....
that's why you must play di drum...to blow the big guys mind!
homebuilt 16hp mill
99 wm superhydraulic w/42hp kubota

Tree Feller

Housewright, I'd like to hear more about the Rymar coating, too.
Cody

Logmaster LM-1 Sawmill
Kioti CK 30 w/ FEL
Stihl MS-290 Chainsaw
48" Logrite Cant Hook
Well equipped, serious, woodworking shop

1woodguy

I can't offer a good suggestion on what to use
And don't care for the paint or weathered look either
    would like to know a little more about how well the rymar holds up.
Or what ever else anyone has had luck using outside  :)
Thanks
Experience is a rough teacher first you get the test later comes the lesson!

tcsmpsi

Enough roof overhang to keep the weather off of it.    ;D
\\\"In the end, it is a moral question as to whether man applies what he has learned or not.\\\" - C. Jung

HousewrightVA