iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

12x16 TF on treated deck frame?

Started by JustPlaneBen, October 07, 2017, 09:25:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JustPlaneBen

Hi folks,

I'm new to the forum and new to timber framing. I'm in the process of building a small shed/cabin in the woods. It's primarily going to be a storage shed, but I'm going to insulate it and put in a small wood stove so that it can be used as a workshop or living space. I am a builder by trade, and have some left over materials that I can use to help keep the cost down. Anyway... I decided on a 12x16 size, and set 6 concrete block piers last weekend. I have the material to do a 2x8 pressure treated deck frame, and I have rigid foam to insulate the floor. I have a couple sheets of advantech, and was going to buy a few more, and that would be the floor system. I was then planning to just build a simple stud frame with rough sawn lumber, sheath, and insulate with rigid foam. But... I think it would be a lot more fun to build a timber frame, something I don't have much experience with. It seems that the 12x16 Garden shed from Jack Sobon's book is a popular choice, and it would fit on the piers I'e already set.

So... down to my question. Being that I have the lumber to build a floor, and it will be a lot cheaper than purchasing the floor timbers from a saw mill, would it be reasonable to build a 12x16 timber frame on a PT 2x8 and advantech deck frame? In thinking it over, it seems fine to me. The 6 posts would basically sit directly above the 6 concrete block piers that I have already set. My only concern is how to attach the posts to the frame. I was thinking of doing a mortise of sorts on the bottom of each post, so that they would have a small shelf that would rest on the corner of the deck frame, and then extend 8" down so they could be through bolted to the 2x8...