iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timber Harvester Pillar Bearing Lubrication??

Started by Slim Johnson, February 04, 2019, 08:08:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Slim Johnson

Hello fellas, 
  I recently purchased a Timber Harvester 30HT25. I am new to sawmills and to this forum. The information in this forum has been quite helpful to me as I get started in this new adventure. The mill I purchased came up for sale at a good deal so I went for it. The Mill only has 100 hours on it so its like new. The down side to only having 100 hours was a lot of down time. 
  All of the fuel system was trash!!! I was able to clean and rebuild the entire fuel system and get the 24HP Linamar LX990 gas engine running like New.

Now to the tough part. I have been unable to find many details about the Mill since Timber Harvester is no longer in business. If anyone is familiar with how they numbered there mills for year model info etc I would appreciate it. My Serial # is TH0503973. It would be nice to at least know what year that was built. 

The other issue is that the Drive wheel has two pillar block bearings. One bearing has a normal grease fitting that is good to go. The other pillar block has some other type of Lubrication mechanism that is broken off and I can not find a part number or a picture of another one so I can replace with the correct part. 

Any help is much appreciated.

If your gonna be Stupid...You better Be TUFF!!

Hewer of Wood

If memory serves me right, your mill would have been built in May 2003(0503) and the 973rd mill they built.
     I would take the plunger off and just replace it with a standard grease fitting. On those pillow blocks I've found over greasing them is just as bad as under greasing.
     I used to give mine a couple pumps each day and was replacing them every 6-8 months.
     Last set I put on I started just giving them a pump or two every 2-3 weeks. Been running that set about 2 1/2-3 years now.