iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawing Question

Started by C_Koon, May 15, 2018, 08:29:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

C_Koon

This is my first time posting so please bear with me.   I need some  advice on sawing.   When sawing 10" SYP boards  for board and batten is it ok to saw a cant then start sawing through the cant or do I need to box the heart.  Thanks in advance.   I really enjoy all the wisdom and advice for here!

bushhog920

Opening face cut to 5" from the center. Flip 180° cut to 10" then rotate 90°. That seems to get the most 10" boards for me.

Magicman

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.  Adding your location to your profile helps with answering questions.

SYP can show some stress being released as it is being sawn, especially from "Plantation" trees.  This will be evident by the end of the cant lifting up off of the sawmill bed as boards are removed.

I would level the log on the sawmill and not be concerned with the pith.  Make the log's face openings so that the cant saw through is from either the hump or horn side of the log.  Flipping the cant 180° after about every 3 boards are removed should keep the cant straight/flat.   
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

WV Sawmiller

I think if you are just sawing them 4/4 or thinner you will be okay. Boxing the heart is to prevent the boards bowing but on thin boards that will be nailed flat, especially when put up green and plenty of nails used, it is not much of a concern. If I were sawing them for my use I would not bother to box the heart for B&B. Let's see what others have to say.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL