The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

TURBOSAWMILL GIANT SALE ON NOW UNTIL OCTOBER 31st


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.


Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine



Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA


Council Tool

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat



Author Topic: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head  (Read 635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Paul L

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Equipment mechanic
    • Share Post
IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« on: July 20, 2018, 02:08:56 PM »
I've been working on an issue with a 2001 Fabtek 153 with a 240 head. In the first few minutes of running the machine when you go to lower the main boom it will slam down a couple feet and then the main boom function will stop working for a couple seconds. When you go to the IQAN screen and look at the voltage output that it's supposed to be sending to the coil it reads fine 990-1100 mA. However when you measure the current and voltage at the coil while the boom has stopped functioning you get absolutely nothing. After the couple seconds of it not getting any current at the coil, everything goes back to normal and it works fine fro the rest of the day! I've tested through the harness from the IQAN to the valve bank and everything checks out, coils are fine, joystick are smooth so all I'm left with is the IQAN MG module itself! I talked with Wayne Ocker, knowledgeable CAT guy from WI and he seems to thing the same that it's an issue with the IQAN he told me that CAT offers an update kit to replace the obsolete IQAN MG system for $15k, obviously that is something I'd like to avoid so I'm looking to you guys for any advice!

Offline bushmechanic

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 904
  • Age: 47
  • Location: Milton,Newfoundland,Canada
  • Gender: Male
  • Someone else has it worse than you.
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2018, 11:43:01 AM »
Well Paul L it seems like you have covered all the electrical bases to your issue. Your best bet now in the trouble shooting phase would be to find another working machine and swap the computers to confirm that it is the Iqan. I know that that is not always possible so you may have to keep using it until something gets worse. Oh wait, that machine should have IPS boxes to convert the signals from the joysticks to the control valve, you may have an issue with one of those. I have had a lot of trouble with connections in the bottom of those boxes.

Offline Paul L

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Equipment mechanic
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2018, 09:01:48 AM »
This machine does not have any ips boxes, it's a generation new than that I believe. The joysticks input directly into the IQAN MG unit. I would love to have a test or replacement MG unit, but unfortunately that's the hang up, I don't have access to any that have the same programming.

Offline Skeans1

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • Location: Rainier, OR
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2018, 09:10:03 AM »
You might call Jason a Superior parts they may have one.
http://www.superiorpartsandsales.com/

Offline Skeans1

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • Location: Rainier, OR
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2018, 09:11:30 AM »
This machine does not have any ips boxes, it's a generation new than that I believe. The joysticks input directly into the IQAN MG unit. I would love to have a test or replacement MG unit, but unfortunately that's the hang up, I don't have access to any that have the same programming.
Paul where is this machine located?

Offline Paul L

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Equipment mechanic
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2018, 07:10:20 AM »
Machine is located in VT, I'll check with superior parts.

Offline Paul L

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Equipment mechanic
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2018, 01:01:34 PM »
Superior Parts didn't have anything and I tried the folks at Skidmore, they referred me to Carl Schrubbe at Joral, I'm not quite sure why they did because his wheelhouse is more the CLC stuff. I think I've found an MG unit, and maybe someone to program it for me, but it definitely would be better to find a pre-programmed MG to at least try. 

Offline Paul L

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Equipment mechanic
    • Share Post
Re: IQAN Issue-2001 Fabtek 153 with 240 head
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2018, 10:26:50 AM »
Just wanted to refresh this thread in case anyone had any other ideas of people to contact or other trouble shooting things to try, I'm open to nay other suggestions!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
IQAN Module on 2004 Fabtek 133

Started by ForestryEquipment on Forestry and Logging

3 Replies
2014 Views
Last post December 28, 2014, 03:52:04 PM
by ForestryEquipment
xx
Fabtek head

Started by deastman on Forestry and Logging

6 Replies
1582 Views
Last post July 20, 2013, 07:48:07 PM
by deastman
xx
Fabtek head

Started by Kitch on Forestry and Logging

5 Replies
2341 Views
Last post February 22, 2012, 12:13:30 PM
by snowstorm
xx
Bar won't come out on my fabtek 4 roller head?

Started by lumbertick on Forestry and Logging

3 Replies
669 Views
Last post December 30, 2015, 07:42:09 PM
by lumbertick
 


Powered by EzPortal