The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

AVAILABLE


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.


Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine



Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA


Council Tool

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat



Author Topic: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?  (Read 396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline m1kebaker

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« on: September 02, 2018, 06:44:03 AM »
I replaced my 40 year old saw with a Huskvarna 435e. I have 7 chains and a bar that fit the old saw. Seems like a waste to throw these away!

I can get a 3/8 drive sprocket for about $20. If I can then, just use the old bar, then I can be setup to use those old chains for around $20.

Thanks

Offline sawguy21

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 9580
  • Age: 69
  • Location: Enderby B.C. Canada
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2018, 11:53:06 AM »
Compare the bar slot sizes as well as the position of the oil hole, it may work.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Offline sablatnic

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 519
  • Location: Denmark
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2018, 01:28:41 PM »
Most likely since the 435, if I remember correctly, is built on the new Poulan factory.
But compare bar slot and hole location.

Offline John Mc

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 4888
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Monkton, Vermont
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2018, 04:10:03 PM »
I may be mistaken, but I believe the 3/8 low profile sprocket used on the 435e is slightly different than a standard 3/8 sprocket. (If your old Poulan takes 3/8 chain, I suspect it is standard 3/8 pitch, not low profile, since I think LP 3/8 did not exist 40 years ago.)

I may be all wet on this. since I don't use 3/8 low pro chain on any of my saws.
If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.   - Abraham Maslow

Offline dougand3

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Location: North Alabama
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2018, 04:42:34 PM »
What is the model # of the 40yo Poulan?
Husky: 272xp, 365, 261, 61, 55 (x3)
Stihl: 036, 026, 011AVT
Poulan: 4218, 2000

Offline m1kebaker

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2018, 07:47:06 PM »
The old Craftsman/Poulan bar is NOT compatible. SawGuy21's suggestion of comparing bars quickly shows they are NOT compatible. The Husky bar DOES have a separate oiler hole, the old Poulan bar uses the large positioning holes also as the oiler hole. The positioning holes are different size and different distance from the bar center.
Picture below.

The manual is a Poulan manual and covers models 1800, 2000, 2300AV and 2300CVA. There is no way to cross reference my Craftsman number to the Poulan number but the 2300s look different than mine and the 2000 came with a 16" bar that mine has always had, the 1800 did not have a 16" bar. It must be a 2000?

Thanks everyone!

 

 

Offline HolmenTree

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 3717
  • Age: 60
  • Location: Manitoba
  • Gender: Male
  • "Been there, done that........and still learning"
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2018, 09:34:18 AM »
The older Poulan bar slot is for larger bar studs which will fit on the smaller Husqvarna 435. Just needs a homemade wire adapter to snug it up.
Poulan bar may oil through its adjuster hole, if not easy to drill a new hole.
Only thing to worry about is chain pitch size and drive link gauge thickness.
Making a living with a saw since age 16.

Offline dougand3

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Location: North Alabama
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Can I use my Craftsman (Poulan) Bar on my Huskvarna saw?
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2018, 09:37:36 AM »
Be it 1800 or 2000, no big difference - all little Poulan top handles use A041 mount (top pic). You could use A041 if you drill oiler holes - but that's a lot of drilling. And change sprocket to 3/8LP.
Be easier to get a Poulan for old bars and chains.
Husky: 272xp, 365, 261, 61, 55 (x3)
Stihl: 036, 026, 011AVT
Poulan: 4218, 2000


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

question
Huskvarna 55

Started by GISer on Chainsaws

3 Replies
2077 Views
Last post April 23, 2002, 06:48:27 AM
by grampt1
xx
poulan 6000 and poulan pro 330

Started by old 030 on Chainsaws

3 Replies
2336 Views
Last post March 20, 2010, 06:14:23 AM
by peppone
xx
Help 358 336 330 craftsman

Started by basspapaw on Chainsaws

2 Replies
396 Views
Last post March 12, 2016, 01:38:53 PM
by basspapaw
xx
No run craftsman

Started by mikeboggess on Chainsaws

2 Replies
441 Views
Last post October 17, 2013, 08:37:59 AM
by NCFarmboy
 


Powered by EzPortal