The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

iDRY Vacuum Kilns


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.


Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine



Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

Michigan Firewood, your BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

FARMA


Council Tool

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat

iDRY Wood Lumber Vacuum Drying for everyon

Baltic Abrasives Technologies Nyle Kiln Dry Systems




Author Topic: Got my Woodmizer MP360.......Finally...  (Read 294 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Percy

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Age: 64
  • Location: Terrace B.C. Canada
  • Gender: Male
  • Resident trouble maker
    • Share Post
Got my Woodmizer MP360.......Finally...
« on: January 18, 2019, 11:27:31 AM »
Got the unit after nearly an 8 month wait.....Canada's electrical codes being the major hurdle(allthough there are many 360's in Canada under the Logosol brand that meet Canadian electrical codes). 

Got to making chips finally. First job was "channel siding"



 

It had to be 7/8 inch thick and rough on the exposed side. Ran all the 2500 board feet of 1x8x8 through with just the top head spinning, thickness planing to 7/8. Then ran it thru again profiling as seen above....lots of work. I need to build a more user friendly input and output system to save on the back....Bending over was the motiff of the day. 

If my resaw was not down for repairs, it would have been much quicker to size with it.


 

My 50kw genset runs like a top. I had to reconfigure it because Woodmizer wasn't able to supply a 460 volt unit....I am learning lots about three phase.....and regulations......Did it all myself.....lots of reading...



 



Here it is on the "profiling" pass




The machine works quite well except for the up/down indicator...Its an anolog counter{like the numbers in an old speedometer)and is pretty much 
useless. After a hangup you cant find your mark. The wide profile channel was done with the top head and needed to be dangerously close to the steel fence. I trusted the indicator only once with near catastrophic results. Gary from woodmizer said to go below the intended spot and come upto it....like tuning a guitar......Still useless...can be about 1/4 inch out......I think I may attach a digital caliper to  the appropriate stationary and moveable portions and just turn it on when I need it...Any suggestions???
GOLDEN RULE : The guy with the gold, makes the rules.

Offline Southside logger

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Age: 46
  • Location: Wilsons (Dinwiddie County), VA
  • Gender: Male
  • Have a plan to saw every log you meet.
    • Share Post
Re: Got my Woodmizer MP360.......Finally...
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 02:36:24 PM »
I have one of these Digital planer gauge   on my 4000. Works perfectly, I set my zero at 3/4" so I reference from there. Double checking with a micrometer it stays within .001" all the time.  If I get a snag I just back off enough to get the issue fixed and then bring it back to zero, don't have to waste the work piece that way. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.

Offline Percy

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Age: 64
  • Location: Terrace B.C. Canada
  • Gender: Male
  • Resident trouble maker
    • Share Post
Re: Got my Woodmizer MP360.......Finally...
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 09:45:28 PM »
I have one of these Digital planer gauge   on my 4000. Works perfectly, I set my zero at 3/4" so I reference from there. Double checking with a micrometer it stays within .001" all the time.  If I get a snag I just back off enough to get the issue fixed and then bring it back to zero, don't have to waste the work piece that way.
Thanks. This is the type of unit Im looking for...Unfortunatly they only ship to US addresses. There are similar units available so I will hunt around.


Edit: Found the same unit from a Canadian supplier so we are all good.. Thanks again
GOLDEN RULE : The guy with the gold, makes the rules.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
Shed For Woodmizer Finally (pics)

Started by woodweasel on Sawmills and Milling

16 Replies
2714 Views
Last post February 07, 2015, 08:34:03 PM
by woodweasel
xx
Woodmizer hydraulic mill and Woodmizer Edger

Started by Keith Edge on For Sale

0 Replies
3588 Views
Last post December 22, 2008, 08:11:51 AM
by Keith Edge
xx
finally its here

Started by snowstorm on Forestry and Logging

20 Replies
3052 Views
Last post April 18, 2015, 12:12:03 PM
by snowstorm
xx
Finally!

Started by Roger2561 on General Board

15 Replies
1883 Views
Last post March 04, 2012, 01:34:57 PM
by Roger2561
 


Powered by EzPortal