iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Let's Talk Sawing!!

Started by Randy, February 27, 2005, 08:54:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Randy

Since I got my trailer set-up to haul logs, I have picked-up around 30 pine logs. My question to All Of You PRO"s is this---If I am sawing these for myself to air dry till I decide what size boards I want to cut out of them------------What size should I cut them.  OK---------If I lost you----I read from alot of post on here that after the boards dry, some of you restack them back on the mill and re-cut them to the size you want and/ or also to get the bow out of them.  So I am thinking ???, for my 2x---------instead of cutting 2x4's why not cut 2x8's or 2x12's then when they dry, put them back on the mill and cut them into 2x4's or 2x6's if that is what I need----------how about cutting into 3x or 4x then resaw into 1x or 2x after they dry(I realize it will take longer to dry the thicker boards. I am new at sawing as you know so I would like to hear from you all on this. I sawed some 2x10's about 3 months ago and some 2x4's at the same time. The 2x10 dried so straight that I was shocked, about a third of the 2x4's bowed, some so bad I might could get into the Bow making business, but they were cut from 2 different tree's.(Had alot of weight on each pile) I cut some 2x6's and most of they dried fairly straight. I resawed some of the 2x6's into 1x6's and they turned out good. OK--FEED-BACK-Tell me what you Pro's do!! Randy

Tom

Randy,
In most instances you are better off to cut what you want the first pass.  If you later need a 2x4 and happen to have a 2x12 laying around that you don't need, then one of the three 2x4's that you get might be alright. 

Your 2x10 was probably straight because you had the heart centered by default and the tension was equalized on either side which stopped the crook.  It may have been cut from closer to the center of the log which would minimize the bow.