iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

bitternut hickory

Started by jackpine, June 03, 2006, 09:35:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jackpine

I sawed a large, for this area, bitternut hickory today, 20" small end. It had a lot of dark spots and streaks in the heartwood and places that seemed to be bark inclusions.

Is this normal for hickory or perhaps  because this was a yard tree, maybe the result of damage over the years?

I'd like to be able to inform my customer as I have no prior experience with any hickory of this size.

Thanks, Bill

woodbeard

Quite normal. I see that all the time in that type of hickory. My guess is that is from sapsucker pecking? Then the area around the hole gets discolored and heals up with something barklike? I'd be interested to know for sure what does it.

oakiemac

That is very normal and it makes it hard to get good grade boards with Hickory. I don't know how anybody makes money selling grade Hickory. Every little bark inclusion or pin knot is a defect. I sell all mine as character grade Hickory and I think those imperfections really add to the lumber. I really love how the white sap wood and the dark heart blend together especially if you have a lot of bark inclusions. I'm going to have my whole living room made from Hickory like that.
Mobile Demension sawmill, Bobcat 873 loader, 3 dry kilns and a long "to do" list.

woodbeard

I agree. In fact, I think hickory is kind of boring looking otherwise. That's going to be a nice looking room!  :)

wesdor

I know a wood turner that looks for bitternut hickory with the dark spots.  He turns some of the most awesome bowls you have ever seen.  I see that you are in Wisconsin(I'm in Illinois) - if you ever come across more of the hickory - especially with woodpecker holes, let me know and I'll put you in contact with Roger.