iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

So, I am a novice wood hunter

Started by bowlofjokes, November 19, 2007, 09:04:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bowlofjokes

I've spent some time this year scavenging left over trees from cleared subdivisions and state road maintenance.
I have been using a Homelite 16in 33cc (Maybe $130 at the Depot) and it has been a hassle. As a novice, I assume it has to do that I am using the improper tool for cutting; an under powered chainsaw. Which in turn dulls the chain quickly. Yesterday we scored some felled Black Cherry and Red Oak from last year. I do this so I can feed my wood stove and not burn an once of oil. I do this because I like to be self sufficient and save money as I am a continuing eduction student. 8 cords is pretty good to get me from November into March (10 is safer bet). Everything is split by hand year round. So, that is a little background.
If I am going to continue this I really need to invest in a better chain saw, for safety and time savings. I am also considering contacting someone to just drop of the limbed trees, if price is right.

Am I the only one feeling the energy squeeze to do this? And does anyone else follow this practice I do? Wood Hunting.

Thanks for reading
                                                                                      poor Graduate student       

Tom

Your saw might do a good job of limbing, but you would be happier with a saw approaching 4 cubic inches when it comes to some constant cutting of fair sized trunks.  You might recruit a custom sawyer in your area too, if you are getting any cherry or other logs that will make good lumber.  It's a shame to burn a potential piece of living room furniture.

sawguy21

Welcome aboard. Pull up a stump and grab a coffee. It sounds like you are not afraid of a day of hard work. The wood you are cutting is probably full of dirt from being pushed around by a bull dozer. That is tough on bars and chains.