iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Alabama registered forester exam

Started by wmrussel, October 22, 2009, 09:40:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wmrussel

I'm studying for this test and need a bit of help.  I finished school over 10 years ago and am a bit rusty (cough, cough).

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 
My name is William, but people call me Pete.  Long story......

beenthere

Refresh the memory...  Have you been active in the forestry field, doing the things a forester is likely to be tested for, on, or about?

Up on the new methods discussed here, like GIS, GPS, etc. ?

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Texas Ranger

If I remember correctly, they used to tell  us in school (Missouri) the hardest question in the Alabama test was: "When you are planting trees, which side goes up, brown or green", ;D
The Ranger, home of Texas Forestry

wmrussel

Beenthere,  thanks for the interest.  My replies will be brief, as I'm using my blackberry and thumb type'n is slow.

Most of my work has been cruising timber, mapping (GIS and GPS). 

I need a good strategy for studying.  Being self employed gives me flexibility, but also keeps me extra busy.

wmrussel

Texas Ranger is it brown up?  I may be in trouble...  ;-)

beenthere

Then I'd suggest going to a Prof in the Forestry Dept. in Alabama.
Try to find out if the test has recently been written, or if it is 10-20 years old.  :) ::)

Bone up on the mensuration techniques, tax issues, and management plans. A myriad of things a forester could, would, or might do makes it tougher. See if you can get a clue from the Prof as to what the test might emphasize.

Is it multiple choice, or essay testing? Problem solving, or general management ideas?

Applying good grammar and spelling skills may also be important. The "i culn't spell enguneer, now I r one" joke comes to mind.