Designing a forwarder [Edit]

Started by Regi, January 17, 2011, 01:10:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Regi

2011 - 02 - 16 Changed the name from:

Designing a small-scale forwarder to Designing a forwarder
And added a new post.

Hello All,

My name is Regi and i'm doing a masters degree in product design at UmeƄ Institute of Design in Sweden.
This is my final year and as my degree (thesis) project i have chosen the topic of "small scale machinery for low-impact logging".
And to be more precise i will be trying to desing a small scale forwarder type of vehicle
for private forest owners for a sustainable forest management.

I've just started gathering research material on the topic of forestry and machinery used in the industry.
I'm hoping that here i will be able to get some insights and comments, since you all have more knowledge in the field than i do.
And later on i was hoping to get some feedback/comments on ideas that i will try to develop and share with you.

So far i'm doing this project without a sponsor (basically covering all the financial expenses myself) and without any hidden agendas.

In the end i hope to make a prototype of the machine
(don't know if i'll be able to pull off a full scale model),
but the working prototypes will deffinately be full scale.

So that's a brief introduction of why i'm here and what i want to accomplish.

Here's my plan for the next few months:

- Research small scale forwarders and similar machinery

- Stakeholder interviews/consultations

- Review design challenges and requirements

- Establish a design direction

And my project Goals so far
(i'm sure they'll be changed or the langueage altered a bit, once i familiarise myself with the field a bit more - i've got almost a month to do that):

Design a mechanical tool/machine solution for small scale/gentle
logging to help the private forest owners get the felled trees from the stump