iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Back yard Saw Race. (Tips)

Started by Miller-Thinner2, November 23, 2013, 10:36:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Miller-Thinner2

I'm sure the pros won't give any tips out and that's understandable.But I'm hoping some of you guys could help me to get my 266xp to cut faster.

A little back ground info on the saw race. It's just a few local guys none are pros and pretty much compete for bragging rights about 2-3 times a years. They cut 7x7 or 8x8 poplar. I have never had a saw to be able to compete with but now I have an old 266xp.

I am a complete rookie at this, So I have been reading about chains and I tried some of the techniques I will post a pic of the chain and hopefully someone will tell me if im doing it wrong or right lol should I run an 8 tooth sprocket or 7? I also have a video of my saw and a stock stihl cutting a log  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cn_GcQuMoSY i geuss i dont have any idea how to add a pic lol

Little Al

Has your saw had it`s muffler modified? if not that would give you a bit more grunt + retuning of the carb

7sleeper

I would look for Stihl PS3 chain and a NK bar. PS3 is a 3/8 picco/hobby full chisel chain that is very popular on the 261 in my area. And would be like a mod all by itself.

Miller-Thinner2

I modded the muffler some.  i added a hole on the side and noticed no increase in power then i drilled the baffle on the inside and it woke it up a lot. I only put a 3/8 hole I'm not sure if I should of went smaller or bigger but I can weld the hole over if its to big.

Cut4fun

Dont go with PS or PS3 on a 4ci size saw.  Use full 3/8  square  stihl RSLK or Oregon CL for a little quicker work chain.
Test with 7-8 rims.  One might be faster in 1 cut like 8, but when you are doing change overs and 2-3 cuts the more forgiven one is the one I choose like a 7.  Like when you start pushing to hard in the heat of the moment in 2-3 cuts.
Muffler mod and carb tune.