The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

TURBOSAWMILL GIANT SALE ON NOW UNTIL OCTOBER 31st


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.


Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine



Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA


Council Tool

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat



Author Topic: Variable Speed feed switch  (Read 743 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Knute

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Age: 70
  • Location: wisconsin
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Variable Speed feed switch
« on: December 17, 2013, 08:25:54 PM »
I seem to have a switch problem. My feed is jerky and sometimes the head will lunge ahead when the switch is turned to stop position. Could be dangerous. Mill has only sawn about 4000 bf. Anyone replace that switch and know approx. cost? LT 28 mill. Understand, I'm not complaining. This is a great mill and produces real accurate lumber.

Offline drobertson

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 8014
  • Age: 57
  • Location: Missouri
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2013, 09:00:52 PM »
Not sure if it's the same as the one on my 40, but yes had to change it once, an easy fix, don't remember the cost, maybe 15 bucks,    david
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Offline Magicman

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 36442
  • Age: 75
  • Location: Brookhaven, MS
  • Gender: Male
  • A "Traveling Man"
    • Share Post
    • Knothole Sawmill
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 09:26:22 PM »
Don't overlook the simple things like bark or a sliver of wood binding or under a bearing.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Offline Knute

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Age: 70
  • Location: wisconsin
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2013, 09:56:29 PM »
Thanks for replies. I'll check it out.

Offline barbender

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 5785
  • Age: 43
  • Location: Deer River MN
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2013, 09:57:22 PM »
Don't overlook the simple things like bark or a sliver of wood binding or under a bearing.
X2
Too many irons in the fire

Offline drobertson

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 8014
  • Age: 57
  • Location: Missouri
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2013, 10:01:52 PM »
debris could be an issue, just never seen it a problem when the switch is off?   His is jumping while in the stopped position, if I read his post right,    david
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Offline pineywoods

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 5055
  • Age: 82
  • Location: Marion, Louisiana
  • Gender: Male
  • Engineering analysis-just sittin thinkin about it
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2013, 11:05:29 PM »
1 it's not a switch, it's a variable resistor known as a potentiometer or simply pot.
      cheap, 3 solder terminals or if ordered from WM just plug it in
2 Most likely it's just dirty. Water, dust, (sawdust ?) .
3 There are other things that can cause that problem and they aren't so cheap.
1995 Wood Mizer LT 40, Liquid cooled kawasaki,homebuilt hydraulics. Homebuilt solar dry kiln.  Woodmaster 718 planner, Kubota M4700 with homemade forks and winch, stihl  028, 029, Ms390
100k bd ft club.Charter member of The Grumpy old Men

Offline SawyerBrown

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1092
  • Age: 61
  • Location: Central Illinois (Peoria)
  • Gender: Male
  • If you're gonna be stupid, ya gotta be tough!
    • Share Post
    • Saw It There
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2013, 12:16:09 AM »
I had to replace mine on my 35 at very early hours, but it just quit completely. Not sure whether it's the same thing or not on yours ...??  Circuit board was burnt.  I think they forgot to tighten the nuts on the posts during assembly and it didn't get a good connection and just got hot (they run a lot of juice through it, as evidenced by the aluminum cooling fins on the board).  So you might just check all the connections and make sure you're getting good contact.  WM replaced mine under warranty, no questions asked.
Pete Brown, Saw It There LLC.  Wood-mizer LT35HDG25, Farmall 'M', 16' trailer.  Custom sawing only (at this time).  Long-time woodworker ... short-time sawyer!

Offline isawlogs

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 8194
  • Age: 59
  • Location: Chelsea Québec
  • Gender: Male
  • A smile is contagious ... Start an epidemic
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2013, 12:27:53 AM »
 While waiting for your new pod, you can take this one out, take the back off of it and clean it out, I used an erasser and cleaned the contact area and put it back together and had it on a long time before chucking it out for the new one I had in stock.  ;)
A man does not always grow wise as he grows old , but he always grows old as he grows wise .

   Marcel

Offline JustinW_NZ

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 634
  • Age: 39
  • Location: Nelson - New Zealand
  • Gender: Male
  • Just Hacking and stacking.
    • Share Post
    • Logs2Lumber
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2013, 01:57:09 AM »
I've had to replace one (potentiometer AKA speed dial), if they get left in one spot for a long time the little tabs in the back get kinda bent outa shape and start being a bit jitterey (I had that issue).

So I try and leave mine out of the normal range or just change it around abit while parked up as well..

Cheers
Justin
Gear I run;
Woodmizer LT40 Super, Treefarmer C4D, CAT 528 swinging grapple, 10ton wheel loader.

Offline Knute

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Age: 70
  • Location: wisconsin
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: Variable Speed feed switch
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2013, 08:43:17 AM »
All good points. I'll check everything out. Thanks


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
could you use a variable speed electric motor for a power feed?

Started by Rod on Sawmills and Milling

31 Replies
5674 Views
Last post September 05, 2005, 08:45:48 PM
by Rod
xx
Variable speed lathe.

Started by tyb525 on General Woodworking

13 Replies
2372 Views
Last post September 23, 2008, 10:23:12 PM
by HOOF-ER
xx
Anybody add a variable speed motor to your lathe?

Started by terrifictimbersllc on General Woodworking

19 Replies
10210 Views
Last post October 20, 2010, 06:49:22 PM
by caver
xx
Convert 1 Phase 1 HP Motor to Variable Speed?

Started by lukebarber on Sawmills and Milling

8 Replies
638 Views
Last post February 15, 2017, 06:19:28 AM
by Kbeitz
 


Powered by EzPortal