iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Smoke House Build

Started by campfire courage, January 11, 2014, 12:43:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

campfire courage

I'm new to the Forestry Forum, I've made a few posts and thank everyone for helping me feel welcome. I'm an active outdoors writer, always working on a project. I own a WoodMizer LT 30 and enjoy wood in all its greatness. I was excited to post on the forum and have had some issues with images and spent most of today working a way out to get images in place. Thank you for your help and patience, hope you enjoy my project.

The process begins with a few Hemlock logs, placing them on the WoodMizer mill and making the proper size lumber for the build.   

Next I dug a trench about 14 feet long and buried the 8 inch pipe with a draft control at the top just after the 90 degree angle.

Moving on the pipe was insulated with sawdust from the mill and covered with dirt.

Next the area was leveled and a rough stone foundation was laid up, then the wooden base was built and the beging of the smokehouse structure. Most of the wood is quite thick, real 4x4, 2x4 and 2x24 inch lumber for the floor and base structure.

Another image of the base and flooring.

Now the framing is started, 2x4 studs and header.

More Hemlock logs for the structure, you would be surprised how many logs it takes to build a structure.

Milled boards for the siding, the building process continues.

The siding and roof are placed and nailed, make sure the walls are square before the siding is put in place.

Framed out the door, placed the hinges and bolted up a lock.

Next a 55 gallon barrel was used for the firebox, I cut a feed door out of the top and welded hinges and a lock to the front and cut the draft pipe into the back. Placed the firebox in the hole and covered it with gravel. Used an old wood burner grate inside to help protect he barrel and give the fire a better draft.   

The Firebox in place and first fire inside.