iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Green spruce for a "D" log cabin

Started by Thefarmer76, September 20, 2015, 08:42:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thefarmer76

Good day to all, what a wonderful site with like minded people all shareing their ideas.  Although I am new to log construction and sawing I am eager to learn.  I am one click away from ordering a HM126 mill after using a friends, I have a horse farm and have a million uses for lumber.  On my acreage I have lots of cedar and a one acre old spruce grove ( that was planted too close together and needs thinned).  So my idea was to use some of the spruce trees to make a "D" style cabin......Is it possible to down the trees one day and saw and use the next week for construction ?  I did so with standing dead trees this winter prior, sawn into 6x8x12' posts and have seen no issues after the summer.  Thanks for any insight you may have, I just can't wait to get milling ! ;D

Magicman

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, Thefarmer76.  Add your location to your profile so that questions, etc. can be easily answered.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

pineywoods

Farmer, I did just that using fresh sawn pine logs. Worked ok except for one problem. When they dried, the logs shrank a bit, but the window and door frames (made from dry lumber) didn't shrink. I routed a 1/2 by 1 inch groove in the top and bottom sides of the logs and put a 1X1 spline in there. Made for a wall almost airtight with no chinking required. That cabin was used for a bunkhouse at a hunting camp, it burned to the ground a while back. I'm thinking about building another, if I do, I'll post pics..If you can do a forum search, search for "pine log cabin" by pineywoods. Lots of pics and descriptions..