iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need help finding timber

Started by DougW, January 29, 2016, 11:21:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DougW

Good morning

My name is Doug and I am new to the board. I am a wood worker and builder so I started making my own lumber with two chainsaw mills I purchased. I can see that that is way to slow for what I want so now I am purchasing a bandsaw mill. Addicting hobby but it is one of the most fun things I have ever done.

Anyway, my reason for being here this morning is that I am having a difficult time finding logs delivered by the truck load to my home in Mixon, Texas. If anyone can point me in the right direction, it would be a great help.

I am looking to start with red cedar in apx. the 10 inch round size, full length, prefer dried - delivered / I am also interest in other types of wood in mixed loads but for the moment my need is red cedar.

If you can help me, please feel free to let me know.

K gotta get back outside and get to work, I am building new shop, and doing it my way. Making all the wood. Slow going but soon I will have the nicest shop I have ever had.

Have a good one

Doug

Ocklawahaboy

Most of us saw green logs and then dry the lumber.  I get small trailer loads of logs off the popular online want ad sites.  If you need commercial quantities some of the boards here on forestry and logging might help you more.  I would expect all of those truck loads to be green timber. I have a feeling that the more specialized your ask, the harder it is going to be to find a logger and hauler to work with and the more you are going to pay. 

Thought about tree services?

Texas Ranger