iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Handle for Hatchet Help

Started by timk, April 27, 2016, 03:52:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

timk

I'm new to axe's and wanted to fix this one up and put a handle on it.   I found Tennessee Hickory online, are they any good? Hatchet head weighs 1.2 pounds. Dimensions are 4.5 inches long, 2" wide at base, and 2.75" wide at blade. Tennessee Hickory is showing either model numbers 10114 or 10115 for this hatchet. Any other good sources for handles? I have no idea how expensive Tennessee Hickory is. Anyone on these boards make them for sale? Thanks.

Chuck White

If you live near an Amish community, they have people who do things like make tool handles, leatherwork, building, etc.

Contact them, usually they're priced reasonably.
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

bluthum

If it were me I would go to my local farm store or the mom and pop building supply with hatchet head in hand and select a handle in person. You can inspect the handle for straight grain and lack of heartwood. This is a rare case in wood where heartwood or tight growth rings are a negative.  There are lots of options on length and several on shape of both the handle the part that fits in the eye. Expect to have to do a bit of hand work to get a good fit.
I would expect to pay about $6-8.

isawlogs

Get a board and make one to your liking!    ;) :)
A man does not always grow wise as he grows old , but he always grows old as he grows wise .

Marcel

timk

Managed to find a nice one at Ace Hardware for about 6 bucks.  It came with the wood wedge however I also purchased a small metal wedge that I've seen people hammer in last.  Should hatchets this small have one?  I already have it so can easily use it...but is it even needed?

Jim_Rogers