iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Ready to buy an EZ Boardwalk JR

Started by arkvet, September 14, 2016, 12:58:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arkvet

and I'm looking for some advice on the specifics of what I will need.

Let me start by giving some background info.  I'm a veterinarian with too many hobbies.  Woodworking is something I love but it will always remain simply a side hobby.  I'm kind of one of those jack of all trades guys.  During our recent home renovation I built a huge maple butcher block top and also a walnut counter top for our bonus/media room.  I've made most of my woodwork out of reclaimed wood including two full size dining room tables that turned out amazing.  I have made all sorts of smaller tables, and misc stuff.

I'm ready to go the next level and be able to use my own trees.  I live on 130 acres of land (~100 acres of timber).  Plenty of mature pine and mature Oak species with all sorts of other species mixed in.

On the agenda is a large tree house (ever watch tree house masters?) in the back yard.  I also have a big stack of large black walnut logs that I cut a couple years back that I've been wanting to mill...

OK so you've got a little idea of me. I live in northeast Arkansas and have researched mills to the best of my ability and have pretty much decided the EZ boardwalk Jr would be a great fit.  They're not too far from me so getting one wouldn't be a problem.  I have not been able to find anything negative about them on the web. 

My questions are mainly concerning all the options surrounding the investment.

My purchase list so far goes like this:

1- Junior Sawmill - $4300
2- Junior Trailer Package - $400
3- Timberwolf blades - $240 (figured 10 would be a good start)
4- 5' extension to get the log length out to 16-17' if I even needed it.
5- 48" Log Rite Cant Hook- ~$100

The potential purchases are:

1- Log Turner - $225
2- Lap siding & Shingle Attachment - $725