The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

iDRY Vacuum Kilns


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.




Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

Michigan Firewood, your BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

FARMA


Council Tool

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat

iDRY Wood Lumber Vacuum Drying for everyon

Baltic Abrasives Technologies Nyle Kiln Dry Systems




Author Topic: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass  (Read 1824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline j_d

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Location: mid west ohio
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« on: February 19, 2017, 10:57:12 AM »
Gentlemen,  I am having issues with oxidation on the strip and bottom rail that allow the hydraulics to function on my woodmizer.  I know scotchbrite and elbow grease is on option but I seem to have read about a bypass that would prevent this from being an issue.  Has any body tried this?
Thanks,
Josh
God, Family, Tribe

Offline Ohio_Bill

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 689
  • Age: 68
  • Location: Little Hocking Ohio
  • Gender: Male
  • Wood is Good
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2017, 11:46:56 AM »
Josh, unless your mill is remote with an energy chain I dont think there is a way to bypass the power strip.
Bill
USAF Veteran  C141 Loadmaster
LT 40 HDD42-RA   , Allis Chalmers I 500 Forklift , Allis Chalmers 840 Loader , International 4300 , Zetor 6245 Tractor Loader ,Bob Cat 763 , Riehl Steel Edger

Online Dave Shepard

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 11032
  • Age: 2014
  • Location: Alford Massachusetts
  • Gender: Male
  • Geometrically proportional
    • Share Post
    • My homepage
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2017, 12:14:07 PM »
Making sure the head is completely stopped before activating the hydraulics will almost completely eliminate contact strip issues. My mill has been outside since new, almost nine years, and I haven't had any corrosion issues, but I am not taking it on the road in the salt.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"Logrite!

Offline Bandmill Bandit

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1979
  • Age: 62
  • Location: Ponoka Alberta, Canada
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2017, 12:26:45 PM »
 

 

Add a second Marine battery on the ground under the hydraulic box that is wire direct to the hydraulic solenoids with 2 OO welding cable and a 200 amp forklift connector. Works like a charm and your hydraulics are live ALL the time. there is a picture or 2 in the use full mods thread.
 
If you ain't livin on the edge you are takin up way to much room. Of course at my age if I get too close to that edge any more theres a good chance I may fall off.
2001 Dodge 1500 4x4. 2018 F150
2007 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 almost Super
2 Logrite 36 inch cant hooks and a bunch of stuff I built myself

Offline Magicman

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 37708
  • Age: 75
  • Location: Brookhaven, MS
  • Gender: Male
  • A "Traveling Man"
    • Share Post
    • Knothole Sawmill
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2017, 02:09:02 PM »
Remember if making the mod as BB describes above that the "pony" battery will only receive charging from the sawmill alternator when the saw head is on the power strip.

You can bypass the power strip with a heavy gauge welding lead, but you will need to fabricate a means of supporting it as the saw head travels.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Offline WV Sawmiller

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 5894
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Hinton WV
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
    • Green's Sawmill Services
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2017, 02:20:25 PM »
j_d,

   Before you do anything else be sure the contacts are properly adjusted. It may be as simple as just tightening/loosening a couple of screws/bolts on the plastic contact head. The last time I had issues with mine that fixed it.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2009 4wd Dodge PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Sthil 440 & 441, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once"

Offline Bandmill Bandit

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1979
  • Age: 62
  • Location: Ponoka Alberta, Canada
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2017, 08:10:56 PM »
I was a bit pressed for time when I wrote the above post.

 YES magicman the extras battery in my system ALSO presented some issues that I had already decided to address at the same time as I did all the up grade mods to get mill as close to an LT40 Super as was reasonably possible. That includes my little genset that charges the second battery AND adds a LOT of additional volume of electrical energy to my system.

Josh; an effective means of dealing with the  lower rail AND the copper strip that has worked for me is a very fine brass wire wheel on my small angle grinder to get them cleaned real well and then a GOOD spraying of those sections with a DeOx spray. I have used Amsoil Metal protectant   
a few times now to test the effectiveness of it and so far it seems to be working well. Make sure you clean and coat  the moving contact parts as well.

Applying the DeOx or some such product is a part of my weekly maintenance routine. Have had no issues since I adopted the practise.   
If you ain't livin on the edge you are takin up way to much room. Of course at my age if I get too close to that edge any more theres a good chance I may fall off.
2001 Dodge 1500 4x4. 2018 F150
2007 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 almost Super
2 Logrite 36 inch cant hooks and a bunch of stuff I built myself

Offline Kbeitz

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 6951
  • Age: 66
  • Location: Millville, Pa.
  • Gender: Male
  • Never enough time...
    • Share Post
    • My Hobbies
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2017, 09:06:05 PM »
Would it hurt to put some electrically conductive grease on the
strip to stop corrosion issues?
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Offline Bandmill Bandit

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1979
  • Age: 62
  • Location: Ponoka Alberta, Canada
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2017, 09:28:50 PM »
I did try that and it does work for awhile till there is enough dirt mixed in to the grease making it less and less effective as time passes.

 Thats the reason for the spray as it has a dry silicone lubricant as well and does not attract dirt. 
If you ain't livin on the edge you are takin up way to much room. Of course at my age if I get too close to that edge any more theres a good chance I may fall off.
2001 Dodge 1500 4x4. 2018 F150
2007 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 almost Super
2 Logrite 36 inch cant hooks and a bunch of stuff I built myself

Offline YellowHammer

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 3802
  • Age: 54
  • Location: New Market, Alabama
  • Gender: Male
  • Take Steps to Save Steps
    • Share Post
    • Hobby Hardwood Alabama
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 10:42:23 PM »
As said, if you have a remote control station, then some welding cable will give you trouble free and full time hydraulics very easily. 
HobbyHardwoodAlabama.com

Offline Brucer

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 4233
  • Location: Rossland, BC
  • Gender: Male
  • The Kootenay Sawyer - retired (for now)
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 11:39:34 PM »
I had a bit of trouble with poor contact after the first year. A very small adjustment to the contact shoe will increase the pressure enough to overcome this. I've had to adjust mine twice in the past 9 years ;D.
Bruce    LT40HDG28 bandsaw with two 6' extensions.
"Complex problems have simple, easy to understand wrong answers."

Offline Peter Drouin

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 8835
  • Location: New Hampshire
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
    • A&P Saw mill LLC
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2017, 05:54:02 AM »
I had a bit of trouble with poor contact after the first year. A very small adjustment to the contact shoe will increase the pressure enough to overcome this. I've had to adjust mine twice in the past 9 years ;D.


Yes, the shoe is not rubbing hard enough on the strip is all.
A&P saw Mill LLC.
45' of Wood Mizer, cutting since 1987.
License NH softwood grader.

Offline slider

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1561
  • Age: 69
  • Location: south georgia
  • Gender: Male
  • sawyer,trucker,tree service
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2017, 07:19:26 AM »
When i bought my LT 70 used in O7 it was already modded with the welding cable for full time hydraulics.The problem was they used the cheep cable ends at the battery with the strap on top holding the cables to the connector.I changed this to the connector with the stud and soldered copper connectors to the cables.This solved lots of grounding problems for me.
al glenn

Offline scully

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 685
  • Age: 57
  • Location: Central New York
  • Gender: Male
  • Orange Mills Matter
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2017, 08:17:08 AM »
I did the cable mod on my super ,  From what you are saying it seems like maybe your contact shoe needs adjusting . I had great luck with a 3-m pad keeping the strip clean .
I bleed orange  .

Offline Magicman

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 37708
  • Age: 75
  • Location: Brookhaven, MS
  • Gender: Male
  • A "Traveling Man"
    • Share Post
    • Knothole Sawmill
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2017, 08:33:18 AM »
I know nothing about salt and corrosion, but I have never had a problem with the strip.  The contact is kept tight and I occasionally brighten the strip up with emery cloth, etc.  I also never operate the hydraulics with the head moving.  In over 14 years of sawing, I am probably on my 3rd contact.  Yes, I have a spare.   ;D
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Offline Bandmill Bandit

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1979
  • Age: 62
  • Location: Ponoka Alberta, Canada
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2017, 10:41:14 AM »
Ive not had any issues with my strip but then the gentleman that taught me how to saw also taught me the best care of the mill for good and reliable service in the field.

The Contacts points/strips were stressed as potential problem areas if not maintained regularly and thoroughly.

I Did have a bit of trouble last spring with the slider blocks on the bottom rail. Thats how I discovered that dielectric grease is not the best for that location. Had to remove the blocks and give them a good cleaning. 
If you ain't livin on the edge you are takin up way to much room. Of course at my age if I get too close to that edge any more theres a good chance I may fall off.
2001 Dodge 1500 4x4. 2018 F150
2007 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 almost Super
2 Logrite 36 inch cant hooks and a bunch of stuff I built myself

Offline Ga Mtn Man

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
  • Age: 57
  • Location: North Georgia Mountains
  • Gender: Male
  • Y'all can call me GMM
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2017, 11:26:06 AM »
"blocks"?...my mill has only one on the bottom rail.
"If the women don't find you handsome they should at least find you handy." - Red Green


2012 LT40HDG29 with "Superized" hydraulics,  2 Logrite cant hooks, home-built log arch.

Offline Bandmill Bandit

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1979
  • Age: 62
  • Location: Ponoka Alberta, Canada
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2017, 11:36:39 AM »
"blocks"?...my mill has only one on the bottom rail.

I meant the one that contacts the copper strip too. You know that do-ma-hinky thing with the spring behind it.
If you ain't livin on the edge you are takin up way to much room. Of course at my age if I get too close to that edge any more theres a good chance I may fall off.
2001 Dodge 1500 4x4. 2018 F150
2007 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 almost Super
2 Logrite 36 inch cant hooks and a bunch of stuff I built myself

Offline caveman

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1353
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Lakeland, Florida
  • Gender: Male
  • In the land of the blind the one eyed man is king
    • Share Post
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2019, 09:24:50 PM »
For those of you who have added the hydraulics anywhere option to your mills, what do you recommend?  We have considered adding contact strips or adding another battery to run hydraulics while the head is off of the strip.  If we had the cat track it would just involve adding welding leads but that is not an option for us.

If you have done either, please comment and post pictures of the extra battery placement.  We are hoping to go from hydraulics nowhere (lt-28 ) to hydraulics anywhere Lt-50.  I dread having to back out of a cut because I misjudged clamp or backstop height.


Thanks,
Kyle
Caveman

Offline Magicman

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 37708
  • Age: 75
  • Location: Brookhaven, MS
  • Gender: Male
  • A "Traveling Man"
    • Share Post
    • Knothole Sawmill
Re: woodmizer hydraulic mod / bypass
« Reply #19 on: February 16, 2019, 09:34:20 PM »
In the rare occasions when that happens, connect your Jump Box to the strip and move the offending clamp or side support.  Works for me.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
Woodmizer hydraulic mill and Woodmizer Edger

Started by Keith Edge on For Sale

0 Replies
3613 Views
Last post December 22, 2008, 08:11:51 AM
by Keith Edge
xx
woodmizer hydraulic fluid

Started by Dan_Shade on Sawmills and Milling

7 Replies
4233 Views
Last post December 06, 2007, 10:59:57 PM
by MartyParsons
xx
woodmizer hydraulic motor

Started by woodmills1 on Sawmills and Milling

4 Replies
2322 Views
Last post June 05, 2002, 03:59:11 AM
by woodmills1
xx
WoodMizer Hydraulic Cylinder

Started by MiskitoCoastCutter on Sawmills and Milling

10 Replies
1910 Views
Last post April 27, 2018, 10:28:20 PM
by Magicman
 


Powered by EzPortal