iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cherry Logs-How Would You Mill Them

Started by clintnelms, April 07, 2017, 03:04:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clintnelms

I've got 3 cherry logs that my neighbor gave me a couple weeks ago. I don't want them to sit and rot so I need to mill them up soon. I don't sell lumber so it would be for my use. However right now I'm not sure what I would use them for. So the question is how would you all recommend I saw them. One inch thick, two inch, live edge, or what? They are probably about 12 feet long each. Haven't measured them.

ChugiakTinkerer

Keep in mind I have no experience with cherry, but I'd probably slab them live edge, 2" or thicker based on potential use.  That would give you plenty of flexibility in how you eventually put the wood to use.  Maybe up to 4" if you envision a need for table legs, etc.
Woodland Mills HM130

WV Sawmiller

Clint,

I hope you have sealed the ends good as cherry is really bad to check. If you have a good place to store them they should store well if you get them off the ground. The sap wood may rot but the heart should stay sound.

I have some I hope to cut tomorrow, weather permitting, and one butt log is similar to the size you describe (shorter though) and I figure to get a 4" live edge fireplace mantel out of the middle and a couple of 2" live edge slabs off the sides. When I actually get it on the mill and can see and calculate better I may even slab the first cuts about 2" thick and make some primitive (Mortise and tenon legs) benches out of them.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

Brad_bb

It depends on what you would potentially make in the future.  If it's me, I cut timberframe braces from the center and the rest of the outside is boards.