iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New OS27 and I have questions.

Started by T-Bolt, November 25, 2017, 02:25:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

T-Bolt

A couple of weeks ago I pulled the trigger and purchased the OS27. I have lots to say about the mill but that is for a later time (serial number 18). I am new to milling so I want to know if my current issue is an equipment issue or operator error. I started with several softwood logs and milled some 6x6 beams to build a stable place to stack boards to dry. The mill cut great and accurate. Next I milled an 8" black walnut into 4/4 stock. Again everything went smooth and was thrilled with the boards. The issue was when I tried to mill a 20" white oak with a little crotch grain. The cut was far from flat with a difference of nearly 3/8". With my 14" shop bandsaw I would adjust the blade tension so I tried that and cut again with the same results. It was suggested that with crotch grain I should cut from the other direction so I tried that with the same results. Any advice?
Frontier OS27

Magicman

Welcome  the Forestry Forum, T-Bolt.

It would help those of us that are not familiar with that sawmill if you had given a bit more information about your Frontier OS27

Also adding it and your location to your profile will help us to remember.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Den-Den

I don't know anything about your mill but my first thought was that your blade is now dull.
You may think that you can or may think you can't; either way, you are right.

thecfarm

T-Bolt,welcome to the forum.
I have read it many times on here,Does it do the same thing with a known sharp blade or a new one? Try changing blades.