iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Just another new guy with a sawmill

Started by Son_of_Liberty, September 06, 2022, 01:12:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Son_of_Liberty

Hello everyone, wanted to introduce myself to the forum. It has been a lot of years since I've frequented a web forum but there is so much great info here, figured I'd introduce myself.

My name is Eric and I live in IL currently, but identify as a Tennessee sawyer. My family recently purchased 300 acres of timber in TN to homestead on and figured a Wood-Mizer would be the ticket to help us with our building projects. My background is in construction and concrete, which I own a business in IL doing just concrete. Through my years of construction I think I've acquired just about every tool known to man. I've started setting up shop down in TN and moved my camper, wired a camp ground and plumbed several spigots that are fed from a pump over a spring. Its not entirely off the grid but I will build my off grid cabin soon about 1 mile into the property that will be entirely off grid.

Here is my LT70 recently purchased. Yes its my first sawmill :)

LT70
Bobcat T250
CAT 236D
FORD L9000
CASE 580 Super M

Sedgehammer

There's no such thing as 'just' another guy ! We're all valued in some way

Besides your mill , the skid is the most important tool one could one when doing something like your doing

I don't know how long you can mill , but I suggest getting an extension to cut as kind as possible . There'll be places you'll be glad to have a long beam
Necessity is the engine of drive

Son_of_Liberty

Quote from: Sedgehammer on September 06, 2022, 03:02:37 PM
There's no such thing as 'just' another guy ! We're all valued in some way

Besides your mill , the skid is the most important tool one could one when doing something like your doing

I don't know how long you can mill , but I suggest getting an extension to cut as kind as possible . There'll be places you'll be glad to have a long beam