iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

preferred species for timber framing

Started by mikeb1079, September 23, 2014, 10:49:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikeb1079

hey fellas, this is my first post over on this side of the forum.  in the coming years I may have the opportunity to build a small timber framed cabin.  I'm a complete novice when it comes to timber framing but have a deep desire to try and I love to work hard.  I have so many questions but one that's been rattling around in my head is about what species of timber is preferred for the frame.  the land my family is looking at is in northern Wisconsin but I have access to land/timber in the southern half of the state as well.  I've read that eastern white pine is a good frame timber but mostly I'll have access to hardwoods:  oak, hickory, maple, ash, cherry, aspen.  so my questions are these:  if you had a choice what timber would you cut for the frame?  additionally:  is it acceptable to mix and match?  or does that pose problems due to the differential drying rates? 

my plan is to work with a local timberframe company that has an architect on hand to come up with a framing plan/cottage plan that my family can agree upon.  then I'll start searching out the timber and milling to spec for the frame. 
that's why you must play di drum...to blow the big guys mind!
homebuilt 16hp mill
99 wm superhydraulic w/42hp kubota

Jim_Rogers

The easiest answer is to work with what you've got.....

Welcome to the timber framing section.

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

mikeb1079

Thanks jim for the welcome and also for the sticky topics....I've been reading them through lately. On that note, can you recommend any specific books that you've found helpful. I plan on ordering a few here coming up
homebuilt 16hp mill

Jim_Rogers

Mike:
I have posted my book list. Do a search here and you'll find it.

There are many but Jack Sobon's are my favorites.

Jim Rogers