iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Started to build my Iron worker today.

Started by Kbeitz, August 08, 2016, 03:33:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kbeitz

I think I'm off to a good start. This is one of my lifetime dreams.
I have allways wanted one but I did not want to pay $15,000-$30,000
for one. So I have been gathering parts for a few years to build one.
1400lbs of steel so far.

Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

jaygtree

looks neat. what's an iron worker do?  jg
i thought i was wrong once but i wasn't.   atv, log arch, chainsaw and ez boardwalk jr.

Gearbox

Have you got the punches and dies . I use my wood splitter as a bender . Just weld up a jig and attach to plate an use wedge for the break .
A bunch of chainsaws a BT6870 processer , TC 5 International track skidder and not near enough time

Kbeitz

Yep I got a set punches and dies and I got a shear plate and bending dies.

what's an iron worker do?

A hydraulic ironworker can be used for punching, shearing, notching,
bending and other metal fabrication functions.
It  is the most used and most versatile machine a person can have
in their manufacturing or fabrication .

Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

drobertson

Every thing but work timber. Lol they are very handy!!
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

thecfarm

Shearing?? Years ago I went to a weld shop. That was when I could go out into the shop. They sheared some ½ steel for my project. Than punched some ½ holes into. Now I know what that thing is called.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Kbeitz