iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Buying a Husky 435 as my first saw

Started by GoStumpy, April 05, 2012, 03:35:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GoStumpy

Hey everyone!  Been doing some reading on here, and decided on this saw as the best combination of budget, size, and longevity...

Birthday present from the wife, hurray!  Will be bought from a well-respected local dealer in case I need help locally...

I will be using it pretty much exclusively for campfire wood, I go on two group trips per year where we are always borrowing chainsaws, as well as I camp with the wife about a dozen times per year...

I used a saw for the first time last year, an old homelite from the 70's... realized I needed one before I got through my first cut :)

So, I am a total newbie when it comes to owning a chainsaw.. What I'm interested in learning is what needs to be done at the end of the season, start of the season, how often do I sharpen the chain (thinking between trips), how to sharpen the chain, etc...  Any good resources besides just browsing these forums?

As of Saturday I'll be a proud new owner and if nothing else just want to say hi!

Have a great Easter weekend!

-Tyler

ladylake

Try and find gas without ethonal and use Stabil or Sea foam in it.  Make sure it's tuned right, a lot of new saws come set too lean and will burn up in a long cut.  Try and start it every couple of months. Also if it's been sitting for a while and it doesn't sound right or rev up good don't run it get the carb cleaned.   Steve
Timberking B20  18000  hours +  Case75xt grapple + forks+8" snow bucket + dirt bucket   770 Oliver   Lots(too many) of chainsaws, Like the Echo saws and the Stihl and Husky     W5  Case loader   1  trailers  Wright sharpener     Suffolk  setter Volvo MCT125c skid loader

WDH

Don't leave gas in the saw.  That one simple thing will mean a long worry free life.