iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Small DH kiln/ Grain Bin question

Started by DDobbs, October 26, 2012, 06:23:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DDobbs

Anyone have a home built kiln with a big box store DH in it?

I have seen talk about them but have never saw one .

I was at Home Depot today they have a dozen of the DH's from just a couple pints to 80 pints.

What size works best?

Was thinking of building in one end of my shed  12' wide x 8' high x 4' deep.

Will a small DH work in that size?

Thanks
Dave
EZ Boardwalk 40
Ez Boradwalk Jr.sold 11/7/2015
Stihl 650 Stihl 290

jueston

i am no expert, but i think you need 3 things to make that work. the DH unit, air movement, and heat.

if you live someplace really hot you might not need a heater, and if you could direct it, you might be able to use the fan built into the DH unit to make the air circulate.

Kcwoodbutcher

It will work. For that size unit I think a DH with a capacity of about 30 pints a day will be adequate. The DH unit itself will give off enough heat to heat the unit most of the time but a small milkhouse heater might be needed in real cold weather. You will need another fan for air circulation and that circulation should be even through the stack or you will end up with temperature variations and MC variations. I think Ebac has some plans available. It's nice to have a power vent controlled by a thermostat for temperature control..The store bought DH unit will have a shorter life than a commercial unit, but they're cheap.
My job is to do everything nobody else felt like doing today

DDobbs

Thank guys for the replys.  Is it the acid in the wood that eat the units? I am just guessing it eats the coils? Why do the other units last longer? Are the coils coated?
EZ Boardwalk 40
Stihl 650 Stihl 290

Kcwoodbutcher

Some are coated, some maybe stainless. A lot of the home DH units use aluminum. They still last quite a while and not all woods are high in acidity.