iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

North carolina sawmilling sales tax questions

Started by jovol, April 09, 2024, 03:49:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jovol

Howdy fellow sawyers,

Does anyone know the rules regarding sales tax and sawmilling in NC? Does the service of milling someone else's logs or resawing boards require sales tax to be collected? And lastly, if I sell boards out of my logs, do I have to charge sales tax (have a feeling that's a yes, but I want to make sure)?

Thanks,
John
2017 LT50 wide, stihl ms362 & ms660, echo cs7310, Logrite fetching arch, 2000 New Holland LS180, Ford 6.0, kubota L48, kubota KH-70, Ford F800 8.3

SawyerTed

I'm NOT a tax expert.  Check with your tax person or CPA.  

If you have a business registered with the Secretary of State and conducting retail sales the short answer is yes tax has to be charged and paid on sales.  

https://files.nc.gov/ncdor/documents/fact-sheets/salesandssetax101.pdf

Look up "business nexus in NC,"  there's some sales tax rules regarding "nexus"   The idea of nexus is that a business does a certain amount of business in the state.  NCDOR doesn't necessarily tell a business about the limits to establish "nexus."
Woodmizer LT50, WM BMS 250, WM BMT 250, Kubota MX5100, IH McCormick Farmall 140, Husqvarna 372XP, Husqvarna 455 Rancher

fluidpowerpro

Another thing you need to keep track of is any local tax levies, etc to pay for stadiums or whatever. If your mobile, you charge based on where the work is done, not your business address.
Change is hard....
Especially when a jar full of it falls off the top shelf and hits your head!

jovol

Quote from: SawyerTed on April 09, 2024, 05:08:33 PMI'm NOT a tax expert.  Check with your tax person or CPA. 

If you have a business registered with the Secretary of State and conducting retail sales the short answer is yes tax has to be charged and paid on sales. 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdor/documents/fact-sheets/salesandssetax101.pdf