iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hi, anyone working with reclaimed materials?

Started by BADMOJO, September 18, 2005, 01:36:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BADMOJO

Howdy everyone,  What a great site .  Jim told me a while back about this site.  It took me a while to get to it.  So is anyone working with reclaimed woods?  I have been sawing and timberframing with them for over ten years now.  I am a week or two or three from buying a new sawmill.  Any advice?  Thanks Derek

Minnesota_boy

I eat a high-fiber diet.  Lots of sawdust!

Sprucegum

What do you mean by "reclaimed"?
Where are you reclaiming from?

mark davidson

the old pine timbers will blow your mind.... I just sawed a few into 3" treads for a circular staircase and everybody on the jobsite loved the look of the resawn beams....
but do get a metal detector and a long, strong wrecking bar.

Raphael

I've made good use of my Logosol M7 (www.logosol.com) sawmill for resquaring older and distorted timbers.  If this is your primary focus you won't find a more effective and economical solution.  I've milled through a 1/2" bolt and gone on to finish the cut smoothly and on line... I did suffer a severe loss in cutting speed.

If you plan on turning a lot of reclaimed material into dimensional lumber (flooring etc.) then I'd say get a diesel powered Wood Mizer (30Hp+).  The bandsaw blade will give you the best recovery especially in an already squared cant.
... he was middle aged,
and the truth hit him like a man with no parachute.
--Godley & Creme

Stihl 066, MS 362 C-M & 24+ feet of Logosol M7 mill

Kelvin