iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Introduce myself

Started by irvi00, November 22, 2012, 08:06:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

irvi00

Hello all, my name is Allen Irvin. Been a member for a little while and have been reading as much as possible here. I have posted a few things and realized maybe I should introduce myself and give a little background. I'm a third generation sawmiller, my grandfather operated three portable mills and owned a cotton gin here in White county Georgia. My father started about 45 years ago with an 0 frick mill. I worked on that mill in my youth doing everything from turning logs to off bearing. About 18 years ago my father bought an Edmiston hydraulic mill and after a stint of being a paramedic I have joined him now. We have joined up with two of my cousins to form Irvin Lumber Company. We have two sawmills and a Newman planer. My cousins mill is idle now due to the economic conditions. My bread and butter has become color enhanced mulch using the wood chips produced from the mill and our trim saws. Anyways, just wanted to introduce myself and say that this forum is great! I've already learned a great deal from here. I want to learn more on the small band mills because I'm interested in a side project sawing out "niche" products. So, "Hello All Yall!"

Jasperfield

Hello, Allen,

Sounds like you're doing OK with your business.

Cleveland is a pretty place. I used to come down there and buy trucks at Jackie Jones'. As I recall there's quite a bit of pine there and lots of forest product activity between you and Clarksville.

Keep us posted!

irvi00

Hi Jasper! Yes there used to be a lot of milling activity here but over the years it has dwindled down to about four of now. And one of those has moved towards a shaving business and idled their lumber side. I guess its do what ya have to do. I've done a lot of business myself with Jackie Jones, good,honest man.

Magicman