iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Safety Advice for Newbie...

Started by Paschale, September 18, 2002, 10:42:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paschale

Hi everyone,

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to felling trees.  I certainly have an appropriate and healthy respect (maybe fear!) of the potential dangers involved when cutting down trees.  Next weekend, I'm going to the U.P. of Michigan to mill an ash tree.  The tree was blown down by the wind, but it caught on a much smaller tree, and has not fallen completely to the ground.  I am uncertain what the best method would be to get the tree all the way to the ground.  Cutting down the small tree is filled with danger--I can only imagine the force which would be loosed if I were to cut that one down.  I suspect it would shoot off in a very unpredictable manner, and certainly could possible result in serious injury.  I've enclosed a picture of the situation.  As I've thought through the scenario, I've wondered about cutting through the smaller tree partially, then perhaps attaching a chain to the smaller tree and using some horsepower to help get it down.  But, I know there's a heck of a lot of experience here on the forum, so I figure I'd check with you all.  Any help is greatly appreciated!  (Incidentally, I will be with two other guys who are pretty experienced with chainsaws...but I'd still appreciate some advice!  No tree is worth hurting oneself over!)

Dan M.

PS  I had a hard time trimming the picture so it wasn't too big a file, so hopefully there's enough there for you all to see what the situation is.  The small diameter tree at the far left is the tree on which the ash is hung up.

PPS I also posted this in the Safety Board, but it seems like this is just as relevant a topic here--so I hope no one minds!

Y'all can pronounce it "puh-SKOLLY"

KiwiCharlie

G'day Dan,