iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Echo CS-300 Problems

Started by tim1234, July 13, 2007, 10:30:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tim1234

I've been using my little CS-300 for about 5 years.  Has run great, started with no problem and never stalled unless it was out of gas.  Out of the blue last Saturday, about half way through cutting some small trees the saw started idling fast (chain moving at idle).  Then it started idling rough and started stalling. 

This is what i have done so far.

1st thought was a clogged fuel filter.  Got a new one today, didn't help.

2nd thought was bad gas.  bought some new midgrade, mixed er up, emptied the saw, ran it dry and filled with the good suff.  Didn't help.

Hmmm.....maybe it's the air filter.  Cleaned it off almost as good as new.....why not give the saw a good cleaning as well.  Didn't help.

nuts...well, maybe its the plug.  Pulled the plug.  It's pretty good but the gap is pretty large.  Bought a new plug...didn't help.

One of the guys at work mentioned a clogged spark arrester screen could cause some running issues.   Removed it, brushed it clean....didn't help.

Did the engine give up, like a piston ring, or could it be the bad gas lacqured up the fuel system?  The gas was about 2 months old, but the oil has stablizer in it. 

Any suggestions?

I really love this saw...if it is really dead, what are the husky or Stihl equivalents.  I take the saw climbing with me when I'm trimming so I really like the small light CS-300.  I don't think Echo makes it anymore.

Tim
You buy a cheap tool twice...and then you're still stuck with a cheap tool!!
Husky 372XP, 455 Rancher, Echo CS300, Alaskan 30" Chainsaw Mill

ladylake