iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Log-length purchases in Norfolk, MA area.

Started by Russ1053, October 05, 2012, 11:08:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Russ1053

Hi all,
I'm brand new to TFF.  Been shopping around for loads of log-length green in my area of southeastern Mass (Norfolk, Franklin, Foxboro, Walpole, Millis, Holliston, Ashland, Bellingham, etc) and got prices from half a dozen companies.  I was wondering if anyone in my area has any insight, experience, or opinions on whom they've bought from before I pull the trigger on the first load.  Everyone I talked to is within a couple hundred dollars of each other.  The lowest quote is $500.00/load (6 - 7 cds. estimate) = $83.00 - $71.00 per cord, mixed hardwood, tree company so possibly/likely some metal to deal with.  The highest is $835.00 ($775.00/load + $60.00 delivery charge for outside the local area) (7 - 8 cds, 7 cds minimum guaranteed) = $119.00 - $104.00 per cord, all clean oak, sawmill and firewood supplier.  Thanks much in advance for any and all info.
Best regards,
Russ Waldron

drobertson

Hi Russ, here in Missouri, most of these type scrag loads goes for around 26 bucks a ton.  With a avg. full load of 26 tons, you can figure around 650 bucks. as far as the  total on the cord count, this would depend on how tight the loads are split and stacked.  If a rick of wood (18"X4X8)weighs in the neighborhood of a ton, you might figure 26 loads.  This is a ball park estimate, but I figured over 9 cord in a load. this would come out to 72 bucks a cord, don't count on my math, just ball parking while watching the braves and cards play.  If this is correct then you could figure any profit from here.  Not counting processing of course.  I just wanted to give a response, I hope I have not went to far astray,   David