iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New guy, all in

Started by learninfast, February 24, 2008, 11:08:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

learninfast

Hello everyone, this is my first time here and it looks like this place has some real knowledgeable folks around.  Let me start by saying up until a few months ago I had never run a band saw, or really anything bigger than a table saw.  I am a carpenter by trade.  Doing mainly conventional  framing and siding.  With work slowing in my area I had to broaden my scope a little and picked up a jobs as head sawyer :o for a company that does timber frame truss work and log accent work. 

The sawyer that had been working for them had about five years experience, but I only got one week to train under him before he left.  I pretty much got the here's the mill, here's the go button, giver all she's got, no faster, faster.  The last sawyer, being the only one who really new how the mill worked, is now gone.  Things went fine for a week or so, until the old girl started to act up on me.

The mill is a Mighty Mite mark IVb, which is the largest band saw that mighty mite make.  I have the whole sharpening and kerf setting setup(so I'm learning about blade maintenance at the same time).  It is a very impressive piece of machinery and can make some beautiful guts when properly tuned.  However it is about three years old now, with an estimated 3000hrs, and has seen little to no maintenance.  Besides having a new sawyer running it ::) some things seem worn and are starting to effect it's performance.  I kinda get the feeling that the last guy was just pushing it REALLY SLOW in order to maintain a decent cut and avoid doing the maintenance.