iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New here, questions about obtaining logs

Started by BeeGuy, May 24, 2021, 07:53:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BeeGuy

Hey yall!

First of all, I'm new to the logging industry so I'll apologize in advance for being ignorant with some of these questions.

So location wise, I'm in Northwest Arkansas.

I understand there are three primary ways of obtaining logs:
1. I cut it down myself (stumpage)
2. It's already been cut and skidded to the edge of the road
3. It's mill ready and delivered by semi or logging trailer

So my first question is, what are the different prices I should expect to see currently and realistically for pine logs for each of the three methods above?

Next, does anyone have any contacts for this area that I can acquire logs from?

Finally, a two part question:
1. If I order a load of sawlogs to be delivered and I have an excavator, a skidsteer, and a moffett would they even deliver or would I need a big wheeled unloader?
2. Upon delivery is there anything you guys would inspect the logs for, or is it simply just you get what you get by the ton?

Thanks in advance!

kiko

The single most important thing when buying timber IMO is following your states rules on chain of custody/origin of the timber.  

BeeGuy

@kiko is this what you are referring to? Section 4.2 Chain of Custody System.

https://www.asean.org/storage/images/archive/AMAF%2032%20ASEAN_Guidelines_for_Legal__Sustainable_Timber-%20final.pdf

If so, where would I need to go to find my states specific rules and guidelines for CoC/origin?

kiko

I did not read all that but it seems to be more about sustainable forestry practices. I does however touch on the point I am trying to make and that is, you DON'T want to buy stolen timber. And I promise you it will be available.

mike_belben